Grading Mechanism in Norway at Different Levels of Study

The Norwegian government decides the objectives and the framework of the education sector. The Ministry of Education and Research is responsible for carrying out the educational policy. Grading in education sector is the process of applying standardized measurements of varying levels of accomplishments in a course.

Lower Education: Secondary Schools

The grades are given to the students at the lower secondary level. A scale running from 1 through 6 is being used, with 6 being the highest and 2 as the lowest passing grade. The grading scale is as follows: 
  • 6  stands for “Outstanding” proficiency in the subject
  • 5 stands for “Very good” 
  • 4 stands for “Good”
  • 3 stands for “Fairly good” 
  • 2 stands for “Low” 
  • 1 stands for “Very low”

Higher Education Grading Mechanism

Universities and University Colleges measures the credit according to the ECTS grading scale wherein A is “Highest” on the scale, E is “Minimum Pass Grade” and F is the lowest on the scale with “Fail” status.
The grading scale is as follows: 
  • A  stands for “Excellent” performance in all the areas
  • B stands for “Very good” performance
  • C stands for “Good” performance in most areas of study
  • D stands for “Fairly good” or “Satisfactory” 
  • E stands for “Sufficient” performance that just meets the set criteria.
  • F stands for “Fail” performance that does not meet the minimum academic criteria.
Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?
loading Processing...
  • No Articles to display

Know More »

  • No Press Releases to display

Know More »

Norway Select a Country

Our Network :